I’ve compiled a list of frequently asked questions (FAQs) that I’ve seen pop up on the ACCA website and other ACCA exam forums.

What does ACCA stand for?

ACCA stands for Association of Chartered Certified Accountants.

What are the ACCA exam entry dates?

ACCA exam entry dates vary based on the month that you want to take your exam and there are early, standard and late exam entry dates.

How many ACCA papers are there?

Currently, there are sixteen exams and students are required to pass fourteen of them.

What are the ACCA exams?

The current ACCA exams are as follows:

Fundamentals Level

Knowledge Module

F1        Accountant in Business

F2        Management Accounting

F3        Financial Accounting

Skills Module

F4        Corporate and Business Law

F5        Performance Management

F6        Taxation

F7        Financial Reporting

F8        Audit and Assurance

F9        Financial Management

Professional Level

Essentials Module

P1        Governance, Risk and Ethics

P2        Corporate Reporting

P3        Business Analysis

Options Module (two to be completed)

P4        Advanced Financial Management

P5        Advanced Performance Management

P6        Advanced Taxation

P7        Advanced Audit and Assurance

The Professional level exams are slated to change in 2018. P1, P2 and P3 will be replaced with Strategic Business Reporting and Strategic Business Leader. Students will have an option between two of the P4-P7 exams and a Master of Science in Accountancy.

Are there any other requirements?

Yes. ACCA students must also complete the Professional Ethics Module and satisfy the Practical Experience Requirement.

What are the ACCA exam pass rates?

ACCA exam pass rates vary from paper to paper and fluctuate for each exam session.

What are the minimum entry requirements to study the ACCA qualification?

To study for the ACCA qualification, prospective students must possess two A-Levels and three GCSEs or their equivalent qualifications.

Is there a specific ACCA order of exams?

My understanding is that you must complete all exams in a particular level before proceeding to another level. So, for example, you must complete all of the knowledge exams before you proceed to the skills exams.

What are the ACCA exam fees?

Exam fees vary depending on your country of residence. Go to the ACCA Fees and Charges page and select your country and you will see the exam fees that you have to pay.

What is the ACCA exam structure?

The ACCA exam structure varies within and between levels and modules. The Knowledge module (F1-F4) exam questions are 100% compulsory. Skills module (F5-F9) exams contain a combination of objective and long answer questions. Professional level (P1-P7) exams have two sections with one being compulsory and the other with choices.

What are the ACCA entry routes?

There are several ACCA entry routes which depend on your qualifications. Your qualifications can allow you to claim exemptions from some of the examinations.

Can I get ACCA exemptions?

Depending on your qualifications, you can claim exemptions from ACCA exams. Use the Exemptions Calculator to check which exemptions you are eligible for.

Where can I find an ACCA exam timetable?

The ACCA website publishes exam timetables for each exam session.

What is the cost of pursuing the ACCA qualification?

There is no standard cost for pursuing the ACCA qualification. However, you can calculate how much it will cost to take the exams. Your costs will also include text books and other learning materials, classes and membership fees.

What other accounting qualifications are offered by the ACCA?

The ACCA also offers a Certificate in International Financial Reporting, a Certificate in International Financial Reporting Standards for SMEs; a Diploma in International Financial Reporting; a Certificate in International Auditing; a Certificate in International Public Sector Accounting Standards; and a Certificate in Business Valuations.

If you have any other questions about the ACCA exams which are not listed here, send a message using the contact form.